gallery/1992 rally australia (15)

Delta HF4WD and Integrale

After the demise of Group B in 1986 FISA introduced a new set of rules for the 1987 season limiting the amount of modifications available to standard road cars. The sudden change of rules left many manufacturers without a suitable car with the partial exception of Lancia. Based around the HF Turbo road car now with a 4WD system with technology learnt from the Delta S4, the Delta HF 4WD (SE043) was born. With its two litre turbocharged engine the car was competitive from the start, Lancia scored a 1-2 finish at the 1987 Monte Carlo Rally with Miki Biasion winning the event. More success continued and Juha Kankkunen went on to win the drivers championship and Lancia won the manufacturers title, the first to do so in the Group A era.


Lancia introduced the Integrale at the 1988 Rally de Portugal, now with its wider track a much more definitive car was born. Yet again it won on its first outing with Miki Biasion who went on to win two drivers titles in 1988 and 1989 for Lancia. After this Lancia introduced a 16V engine for the integrale at the 1989 Sanremo. In typical fashion Biasion went on to win the event with team mate Didier Auriol crashing out. Success was also found at European level. From 1987 to 1991 the Delta won the European Rally Championship with Dario Cerrato, Fabrizio Tabaton, Yves Loubet, Robert Droogmans and Piero Liatti.


Lancia introduced what is now known as the most famous variant of the Integrale, the “Deltona” in November of 1991. Later the same day Lancia announced that they would be retiring from the rallying scene at the end of the year after winning a record breaking five titles with the Delta. However for 1992 the operations were handed over to Jolly Club but still with factory assistance from Abarth. More success was on the cards with Didier Auriol, Juha Kankkunen, Andrea Aghini, Philippe Bugalski, Jorge Recalde, and Bjorn Waldegard behind the wheel of the Martini backed cars when against all odds they won the title again for the sixth time. A record that still stands today. 


For 1993 Jolly Club continued with the Integrale but the departure of Auriol and Kankkunen going to Toyota the only man available was Carlos Sainz. With personal sponsorship coming from Repsol, Sainz was paired with Andrea Aghini and Gustavo Trelles for the coming seaon. Regular Jolly Club sponsor Totip returned to sponsor Aghini with Trelles running in Repsol colours alongside Sainz. With limited development the car was starting to show its age and the success was not to be repeated. Jolly Club would have to settle with a number of podiums thought the 1993 season and the much sought after victory never came.


Jolly Club announced their departure from the World Rally Championship and the Delta was retired. Six Manufactures Championships, four Drivers Titles, and 46 outright Rally wins made it the most successful rally car ever to compete.

Ex Works Cars

TO 13721T
TO 23905P
gallery/1996-tartufo 3
TO 35378S